News Releases


August 28, 2017

DAYTON, Ohio - Community Blood Center/Community Tissue Services Board of Directors has elected Montgomery County Coroner Dr. Kent Harshbarger to serve as board president and named three new board members.

Dr. Harshbarger has been Montgomery County coroner since 2011 and spent nine years as deputy coroner. He is president of First Forensic, Inc. and is an Armed Forces Medical Examiner for the Army National Guard and Army Reserve. He is a pathology consultant for the Dayton V.A. Medical Center and chief forensic officer for the Ohio State Coroner's Association.

"Having served on the board for many years, I look forward to helping lead the organization in the role of board president," said Dr. Harshbarger. "I am dedicated to what this organization stands for and I admire how every donor family is honored and valued.  It is a trusted responsibility to turn the amazing gift of donation into lifesaving and enhancing transfusions and transplantations. 

"The next few years at CBC/CTS are going to be dynamic. We must expand our physical plant and in doing so, make sure we are planning for future scientific advances.  These plans will assist in leveraging our experience and expertise in exciting fields like regenerative medicine."   

The board elected Michael Seely to serve as vice president. Seely has been executive director of the Pacific Northwest Transplant Bank for 20 years and has held national leadership roles in organ procurement and sharing agencies and the transplant industry.

New to the board is Joanne Li, former Dean of Raj Soin College of Business at Wright State University and current dean, professor of finance, and Ryder Eminent Scholar Chair at the Florida International College of Business.

Also new to the board is Dayton-based commercial real estate broker and developer Mark Fornes. He is a University of Dayton MBA graduate and lives in Kettering.

Also joining the board as a new representative is former Phoenix, Arizona police officer Jason Schechterle. He is a traumatic burn survivor and multiple skin transplant patient who is nationally known as a motivational speaker and author.